Barbados National Trust
The Barbados National Trust, founded in 1960, is an organisation which works to preserve and protect the natural and artistic heritage of Barbados and to increase public awareness of Barbados' historic and architectural treasures. These include a number of different cemeteries, gardens, historic houses, nature reserves, park areas, windmills and coastal areas.
The Trust also runs museums displaying a collection of artefacts owned and made by Barbadians, as well as an education programme, focusing on the island's history and what it means to the future.
The Barbados National Trust has built a good working relationship with other National Trusts worldwide, equally with the organisations and their members, in places such as Canada, Scotland, England, Ireland, Wales, and the United States.
- Morgan Lewis Windmill
- Bridgetown Synagogue
- Andromeda Botanic Gardens
- Arlington House Museum
- Gun Hill Signal Station
- Tyrol Cot
- Welchman Hall Gully
- Wildey House
MORGAN LEWIS WIND MILL
The Morgan Lewis Windmill is the only complete sugar mill in the whole Caribbean . The wind-driven machinery has also survived and is still intact.
The mill includes an exhibit of the equipment used to grind the sugar cane when it was powered by the wind energy.From December to April, the Barbados National Trust demonstrates grinding of sugar canes at Morgan Lewis. The resulting cane juice is absolutely delicious!
Also take a visit to the plantation house. The rubble walls are comprised of boulders held together with a mixture of egg-white and coral dust (there was no cement when this plantation house was built!).
Located in Historic Bridgetown a UNESCO World Heritage Site, the Synagogue building is the earliest consecrated temple in the Western Hemisphere.
The building includes the temple, the cemetery and more recently the interpretive and interactive museum. The fully restored Synagogue was internationally recognized with an American Express Preservation Award in 1991. An old warehouse was restored completed to house the Museum which was opened in 2008. The museum traces the role played by the Barbados Jews in the development of the sugar industry and in commerce and commemorates and celebrates our Jewish Heritage.
Located on the East coast of Barbados near to Tent bay at Bathsheba the gardens sit on the border of the parishes of St. John and St. Joseph approximately 300 yards from the Atlantic Ocean. These Gardens are a collection of different plants from many other tropical and sub-tropical locations. Andromeda Botanic Gardens has adopted a variety of eco-friendly practices. Only organic pest controls are used and green fertilizer is grown in the Gardens.
Come and visit this unique garden. Walk through the winding pathways as you journey through this horticultural delight. Be amazed at the variety of unique trees, some of which are not found anywhere else in the Caribbean. Have a look at the wonderful palm collection; marvel at some of the succulent plants; be mesmerized by wonderful perfumes; and watch the hummingbirds as they feed on the Heliconias. Relax by the main pond and enjoy the spirit of this wonderful space.
Located in Speightstown, Arlington House Museum offers a unique opportunity to experience life in a bygone era!
The restored eighteenth century building, Arlington House, is an interactive three-story museum that is both educational and engaging. It has an interactive and audio visual features of the museum that children in particular will love while learning about Barbados’ heritage.
“Speightstown Memories” introduces the lives of the island’s first settlers;
“Plantation Memories” illustrates the influence of colonization, the plantation system and sugar cane on the island;
“Wharf Memories” presents a talking pirate recalling the importance of Speightstown as a leading port and trade hub.
Gun Hill Signal Station
Built in 1818 Gun Hill Signal Station was the finest of a chain of stations used to signal the approach of enemy ships and the safe arrival of cargo ships and to help in the internal security of the island. The station is strategically lactated on the highland of St. George and commands a magnificent view from East through South to the West. The rooms at the back of the signal tower are filled with an interesting collection of memorabilia from the military.
Gun hill is one of a series of six signal stations which were built and used as rallying points in the event of civil disorder and also for non-military purpose.
Interesting functions of Gun Hill Signal Station:
Conveying of information about meeting of the Council of Barbados. This was executed by the appropriate combination of flags on a Signal Staf at Government House and repeated almost immediately at the other signal stations.
- Time telling – this was done by given special signals (time balls) hoisted at all signal stations
- Hurricane warnings – As soon as there was a drop in barometer pressure, warnings were listed at signal stations. Of interest to note is the fact that when the British Military was withdrawn from the islands in the Caribbean, the British stopped subscription to the maintenance of the signal stations. The Barbados Government then fully maintained the signal stations which then came under the control of the Inspector General of the Police. The introduction of the telephone saw the discontinuation of the signal stations as a means of passing messages.
This 1854 restored mansion was once the home of Sir Grantley Adams. This centerpiece of an authentic “chattel house” village features local arts, crafts, food and drink.The traditional ‘Rum Shop’ offers a daily menu and serves a variety of local rum, as well as teas and coffee.
The house itself was constructed in 1854 and is an architectural gem with a mixture of Palladian and tropical vernacular and is filled with the Adams’ antique furniture and memorabilia.
Welchman Hall Gully
Welchman Hall Gully is located in one of the hilliest parishes in Barbados, St. Thomas . In fact, it is close to Mount Hillaby, the highest point in Barbados at approximately 1100 feet above sea level. The gully is approximately 800 feet above sea level. The Barbados National Trust developed this site into a major tourist attraction as a place to be visited during tours across Barbados. The Gully is bountiful in natural vegetation indigenous to Barbados and in some cases not so indigenous. These include clove, nutmeg, cocoa, coffee, citrus, avocado and other tropical fruit trees and a Bamboo grove.
Visitors are exposed to aspects of Barbados geologic history as a coral island and with the Gully’s connection with Harrison’s Cave next door. Actually, the gully is often described as a cave whose roof has fallen in. The nutmeg grove is the section of the gully that peeks the interest interest of many persons. The last stop before leaving the gully would be to climb the steps to the lookout the gazebo to savor the magnificent view across the highlands of Barbados’ East Coast as well as the breaking rollers of the Atlantic Ocean in the distance
The Wildey House
Located in the parish of St. Michael on the south coast of Barbados, The Wildey House is home to the BNT headquarters. It is a beautiful vintage Georgian-style mansion housed on beautiful grounds. It has a fine collection of antique furnituresuch as Mahogany furniture, as well as antique china, glassware, and photographs of the old world Barbados.
The Barbados National Trust also hires out this venue for private functions including private dinner parties in the original dining room complete with original dining table and are happy to host weddings here too!